Bullying? Try some new things.


Recently, I signed up for a program that introduces high school students to multiple areas of college work. It is not at all hard work, simple areas of work with most easy and some challenging activities that you are guided through. The program is very interesting to me, and I really enjoy it.

 

One thing I’ve noticed is how nice about 95% of the students are. I’ve had one single incident of bullying the whole time, and I easily shrugged the kid off with “that is your opinion,” to which his words turned into mumbles and stumbling sentences. This brought to my mind something I hadn’t realized before, of which I want to share with everyone who takes time out of their day to read my blog.

 

Taking this class that goes along with the program has opened my eyes to something after seeing how polite and friendly most of the other people in the class are. I decided I would try something new that I enjoyed(Introduction to 2D Computer Programming : D) and I have since made two or three good acquaintances. While these acquaintances may not turn into friendships or friendly bonds, the fact that I’ve met such good people in three days of this program has shocked me to a quite high level.

 

My advice to you the reader, if you feel you are in a place with few friends and little to do, or even just a little free time, to try something new. Go join a community center that practices art. Go learn to play guitar. Drums. just go do something new that will introduce you to a new area of study, enjoyment, fun, entertainment, or even just occupation.

 

Learning about the programming has given me three benefits- Getting out of the house, making several new acquaintances, and learning how to program simple 2D games. I am enjoying doing something new, and I am positive you will too.

2 responses to “Bullying? Try some new things.

Leave comments/feedback/suggestions here

